Marathon Training: Week 6

Hallelujah! For this week’s long run, the temps were warm enough to keep my nutrition from freezing! Don’t get me wrong; it wasn’t warm. It was 30 degrees with a windchill in the 20s. But that was good enough for my hydration!

We needed 13 miles this weekend. Although the Norton Sports Health training run for the Kentucky Derby Festival Marathon and MiniMarathon was back on at Iroquois Park after missing two weeks due to snow and ice, we decided to skip it. They only needed nine miles, and while we could have added on an extra four, we chose to head over to the Parklands for our long run.

Gina joined Melissa and me again, and we met bright and early at 8am. Well, it wasn’t bright out; the morning was overcast and there was a biting wind. Other than that, the run was pretty uneventful. It was the longest any of us had run since November’s Indianapolis Monumental Marathon for me and Half Marathon for Melissa and Gina. Since my hydration didn’t freeze, my nutrition was on point, and I felt ok when we were done.

Once I got home, I stretched, used the massage gun, took a long bath, then pulled on my compression socks and Oofas. I’m about 11 weeks out from Big Sur Marathon, and there’s a few more things I need to plan for our trip. I’d love to find a place in Monterey where I can get my hair French braided, and I just Googled to make sure there was a Whole Foods there. It’s my customary pre-race dinner for any out-of-town races.

Not race-related, I also need to see about wineries to visit when we’re in Sonoma. I’ve heard a lot of people say that since Covid, wineries require reservations. Argh – still so much planning to do!

Leave a comment